Posted by: dodgrblu | July 22, 2010

I’ll Take Potpourri for $200, Alex

Well, I’m at a loss for words. Or at a loss for a blog entry anyway.

After the Dodgers dropped the first two games at home to the hated Jints, I was preparing myself to write the post about the appropriate color for a panic flag.

But God bless Chad Billingsley and Casey “The Beard” Blake. Bills pitches a gem–his second-ever complete game shutout (first was also against the Gnats, a couple of years ago), and the Dodgers beat the Supreme Enemies 2-0 to avoid the sweep. Dodgers pick up a game on both San Francisco and Colorado, who also lost on Wednesday. Unfortunately, the Padres won in extra innings (yet another reason for me to hate the Braves), so no ground gained there.

So, I’ll file my thoughts on the panic flag’s color for now. Seven of the Dodgers’ next 14 games are against the Padres, and 3 are against the Gnats. Each one of those games is very, very important. So I may be back to writing the dreaded post about the panic flag within a couple of weeks. (Especially if July 31 comes and goes without a trade.)

(Cool: I just referred to the team of evildoers from San Francisco several times without calling them by their real name AND without using any expletives. Woohoo!)

*  *  *  *  *  *

More baseball. I follow three teams: the Dodgers, the Mariners, and the Mets. Since the All-Star Break and through Tuesday night, these three teams were 2 and 16. WTF is up with that?

Wouldn’t you think that just by law of averages that three teams would be able to gin up more than 2 wins amongst themselves in 18 tries?

Okay, the Mariners suck this year–so much so that all the trees as far away as Idaho are bending west. It’s no surprise that the Mariners lost.

But the Mets and Dodgers are both in playoff contention. And the Mets played the Arizona Diamondbacks this week—the second worst team in the National League (third worst in all of baseball). (And they got swept!)

Something has to give now, though. The Mets come into Dodger Stadium for four games this weekend with both teams having only won once since the All-Star Break. Can you say “hungry”?

Dodgers should have the advantage on Thursday night, since the Mets played 14 innings in their losing effort against Arizona last night. After that, who knows?

*  *  *  *  *  *

One more thing about baseball, and this for the sake of clarification.

With the Mets visiting the Dodgers this weekend, you might be asking, “Gee, Ms. Vamp, for whom do you cheer when your teams go head to head?”

The Dodgers, of course! The Dodgers trump everybody. I’ve been a Dodgers fan for as long as I can remember. Sure, I was piiiiiiiiiiiissed when they traded away Mike Piazza. But I got over it (eventually). Blood is thicker than water, and I bleed blue.

And I will generally root for the Mariners over the Mets. I suppose in theory there could be a situation in which I would go for the Mets over the Mariners, but they play each other so rarely and interleague play is done so early in the season, it just hasn’t come up.

*  *  *  *  *  *

Okay, done with blathering about baseball for now, so you can breathe a sigh of relief.

I was going to talk about Facebook and Twitter next, but that was shaping up to be too long for potpourri, so I’ll save it for another entry.

*  *  *  *  *  *

I noticed in the news from ComicCon that Disney is going to do another Haunted Mansion movie. (Yeah, I know what you’re thinking: “Uhoh!”) It’s going to be directed by Guillermo del Toro, who promises it will not be a comedy (phew!). Perhaps Disney is finally doing the movie that I HOPED they were doing before they made that awful comedy starring Eddie Murphy. I like the Pirates of the Caribbean movies (sue me), so I’ll be eager to see the Haunted Mansion movie when it comes out.

Speaking of Disney, I haven’t seen any news lately on the Maleficent movie that is rumored to be in the works. I’m looking forward to that one. Maleficent is one bad-ass fairy: easily the best Disney villain. I hope the movie has her transforming into the dragon. The Maleficent movie is probably going to be a must-see for Little Vamp: she loves and actively roots for the dragon in Sleeping Beauty.

I also discovered today that they’re making a movie out of Michael Lewis’s excellent book, Moneyball. This doesn’t seem very timely, as the Moneyball philosophy seems to have lost some of its luster since the book came out,  to Prince Fielder’s immense …ummmm…satisfaction. More surprising is the casting—Brad Pitt as Billy Beane and Jonah Hill as Paul DePodesta. If I was Paul DePodesta, I would be a little insulted. (But if I was Paul DePodesta, I also would have made damn sure that Brad Penny was healthy and the Randy Johnson part of the trade was going down before I traded away Paul Lo Duca. Just sayin’.) But what I really want to know is, who will be playing Jeremy Brown, the “bad body” catcher?

(Oops! Sorry about that—I accidentally fell back into talking about baseball while I was gabbing about movies.)

*  *  *  *  *  *

My favorite Tweet of the day from Comic Con:

“ABSOLUTELY NONE WHATSOEVER: THE OFFICIAL DEODORANT OF SAN DIEGO COMIC-CON.”

And with that, Ms. Vamp is out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

